EPA to assess hazardous materials danger in Indiana floods

CHICAGO (June 20, 2008) - U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Region 5 today will begin to assess hazardous materials, oil, orphan containers and sites that potentially present an imminent danger to health or the environment in 37 flooded counties in Indiana. The Federal Emergency Management Agency has funded EPA with $150,000 to conduct the assessments.

The Indiana counties affected by floods are Adams, Bartholomew, Boone, Brown, Clay, Daviess, Dearborn, Decatur, Gibson, Grant, Greene, Hamilton, Hancock, Henry, Huntington, Jackson, Jefferson, Jennings, Johnson, Knox, Lawrence, Marion, Monroe, Morgan, Owen, Parke, Pike, Putnam, Randolph, Ripley, Rush, Shelby, Sullivan, Vermilion, Vigo, Washington, and Wayne.

As with any flooding situation, EPA recommends that residents avoid contact with floodwater. More EPA advice about floods is available at: http://www.epa.gov/naturalevents/flooding.html

More information about Midwest flood response and recovery is available at: http://www.usa.gov/flooding.shtml